Herb Kohl

Educational Foundation, Inc

Teacher Fellowship Program


The Kohl Teacher Fellowship program recognizes and supports teaching excellence and innovation in the State of Wisconsin, USA. Our goal is to support teachers in the pursuit of their unrealized goals for their classrooms or professional development. The 100 Herb Kohl Fellowship recipients and the 100 schools of those teachers will each receive a $6,000 grant and will be recognized at a spring banquet.  Nominations for the Herb Kohl Fellowship will only be accepted using this website's online nomination form.  The nomination and application process is divided between public and religious/independent schools.

Wisconsin Teacher of the Year Programs

Public school recipients of Herb Kohl teacher Fellowships automatically become candidates for the Wisconsin Teacher of the Year (TOY) program, and a State Selection Committee selects four Teachers of the Year using the pool of Kohl Fellowship recipient applications.  Each year, Wisconsin Teachers of the Year are chosen for each of the four categories:  elementary, middle/junior high school, high school, and special services.  The four selected teachers are interviewed in Madison to determine Wisconsin's nominee to the National Teacher of the Year Program.  

Fellowship recipients who teach at religious or independent schools automatically become candidates for the Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools (WCRIS) Teacher of the Year.  Each year, one religious and independent school teacher Fellowship recipient is selected by a WCRIS committee to receive the private school Teacher of the Year Award.