Each diocese/jurisdiction receives an application allotment based on the total student enrollment of the jurisdiction. Jurisdiction representatives receive this allotment number in September.

Please note that some jurisdictions may have separate rotation schedules in which schools are eligible to participate each year. If you are unsure if your jurisdiction has its own rotation schedule, please check with your superintendent/WCRIS representative first before completing an application. Your superintendent/WCRIS representative, with contact information, can be found on the WCRIS website under "WCRIS board members".

Each diocese/jurisdiction will assemble a selection committee to review the submitted applications. Committee representation should include students, parents, teachers, administrators, school board members, civic and business leaders, and local newspaper people.

Local nominees' applications are forwarded to the Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools office on or before Monday, December 12, 2016.

Successful applicants' materials will be forwarded to a State Selection Committee. The state selection committee will consist of representatives from the cooperative educational service agencies, WCRIS, Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, Herb Kohl Educational Foundation, the community, and education-related associations. The committee will convene on January 31-February 1, 2017 to score applications. Applicants will be contacted in early March, 2017.

Fellowship recipients will be honored and will receive certificates representing their awards at a special luncheon held in the spring of 2017.

Recipients' accomplishments are celebrated at a recognition luncheon in the spring. Fellows and their schools will receive their grants in late June, 2017.

Religious and independent school recipients of Herb Kohl Teacher Fellowships automatically become candidates for the Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools Teacher of the Year, which will be awarded for the first time in fall 2017. The WCRIS Teacher of the Year will receive a $3,000 grant from the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation.


Abigail Pavela
Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools
Suite 802, 110 E. Main Street
Madison, WI 53703


2002 Herb Kohl Educational Foundation. All rights reserved. Kohleducation.com is a Byte Studios iControl site.